Bryan Loughrey, Graham Holderness

Research output: Contribution to specialist publicationEditorial


This issue of Critical Survey inaugurates a new chapter in the history of the journal. Founded in 1962 by Brian Cox and Tony Dyson, the journal formed a complement to its sibling Critical Quarterly, publishing creative as well as critical work, and targeted at staff and students in both secondary and tertiary education. Critical Survey ceased publication in 1979, and was re-launched in 1989 under the editorship of Bryan Loughrey, who has now returned as joint Editor with Graham Holderness (formerly General Editor). A new Poetry Editor Ben Parker joins our long-serving colleague John Lucas to manage the Poetry section. We would like to take this opportunity to record our thanks to the distinguished succession of University of Hertfordshire Literature staff who served as Editors between 1992 and 2015 – Professor Andrew Murphy, Dr Carol Banks, Professor Sharon Monteith and Dr Andrew Maunder.
Original languageEnglish
Number of pages1
Specialist publicationCritical Survey
PublisherBerghahn Journals
Publication statusPublished - 1 Mar 2016


Dive into the research topics of 'Editorial'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this