University of Hertfordshire

Composition and performance

Research output: Non-textual formPerformance

  • David Smith (Composer)
View graph of relations
Original languageEnglish
Publication statusPublished - Sep 2012


First performance in London of the recital-length 10th Piano Concert, a collection of 70-odd pieces (which are approaching completion) each lasting about a minute.
This is a set of discrete works, each of which is complete in itself as distinct from being a set of “miniatures” or “sketches”. There is a deliberate concentration on unusual and varied aspects of rhythm, resonance (especially those exploring the sostenuto pedal) and musical appropriation.

ID: 782902